• Great Southern Land - 5:14
  • Uniform - 4:09
  • Street Cafe - 4:22
  • Hey Little Girl - 4:10
  • Glam - 3:18

  • Trojan Blue - 4:59
  • One By One - 3:57
  • Break These Chains - 3:40
  • Mysterious Thing - 4:21
  • Goodnight Mr Matthews - 3:57

  • This album has been released previously as Primitive Man in Australia and US
    Stills taken from the Russell Mulcahy video Hey Little Girl


    1983 UK release

    Love in Motion is the UK version of Primitive Man, released in 1983 with different cover artwork. Although released as an ICEHOUSE album it was essentially an Iva Davies solo project. The album was co-produced with Keith Forsey, who later worked with Simple Minds and Billy Idol. Forsey supplied additional percussion; Davies supplied vocals, lead guitar, keyboards, bass guitar and programmed the Linn drum machine. The album provided the band’s international breakthrough single, “Hey Little Girl”, which peaked at #7 in Australia, #1 in Switzerland, #5 in Germany, Top 20 in the UK, Sweden and the Netherlands, and #31 on the U.S. charts.

    “Great Southern Land” made the Australian Top 5, and was later featured in the 1988 Yahoo Serious film Young Einstein. It remains their most popular song according to listeners of Triple M in 2007. “Street Cafe” was the third single from the album. To promote the album on tour, Iva Davies re-assembled ICEHOUSE with Michael Hoste (keyboards) and John Lloyd (drums), along with new members Bob Kretschmer (guitar, backing vocals), Guy Pratt (bass guitar, backing vocals) and Andy Qunta (keyboards, backing vocals).

    First Released: 20-Sep-1982

    Iva Davies - Lead vocals / guitar / Sequential Circuits Prophet-5 / Linn drum machine
    John Lloyd - Drums / Vocals
    Michael Hoste - Keyboards
    Bob Kretschmer - Guitar
    Guy Pratt - Bass Guitar

    Label: Chrysalis Records

    Produced: Iva Davies and Keith Forsey